Back to top

Yeah! EP


Format: CD
Genre: Electronic/Dance
Rel. Date: 06/23/2017
UPC: 4029759120759

Yeah! EP
Artist: KMFDM
Format: CD
New: Out of Stock

Available Formats and Editions

$4.99   Buy MP3 Album

More Info:

Pioneers, philosophers, trailblazers, in short: prophets always have to assemble their flocks abroad before they find due recognition in their homelands. This also applies to the German art form KMFDM. Whether in the US, Japan, Australia or elsewhere (where they sold hundred thousands of records and embarked on various sold out tours) - for over a quarter of a century they are the epitome and synonym for a musical style of the harder variety: Industrial Rock.

KMFDM pioneered the crossover between techno/dance and heavy metal, creating their unique sound and were one of the first bands to bring Industrial Rock to mainstream. They influenced bands such as Rammstein with whom they were touring the US - with KMFDM headlining.

The band was founded in 1984 and rapidly evolved year by year through intense experimentation and touring. They have managed to redefine themselves with every new release.

This year, KMFDM will create a stir twice: beginning with 'YEAH!', a 5-track EP of brand new songs, remixes and edits, and then followed by the band's new studio album in August.

With 'YEAH !', the renowned German industrial rock pioneers continue to be fiercely political, taking a stand against violence, war and oppression in a meaningful crossover between techno/dance and heavy metal.
'YEAH !' revolves around two brand new songs: 'HELL YEAH' with its ultra-heavy beat is combined with a loud, raw, powerful sound and KMFDM's trademark cynical lyrics whereas 'FREAK FLAG', which is included in an edit on this EP, is a distinctive hymn for outlaws, freaks, mavericks and all the others. The song (the full length of which is on the new album) is accompanied by yet another new one, 'ATTAK 2017'. German dark rock band Lord Of The Lost's remix of 'Hell Yeah' takes the original to a wholly new and surprising direction.

The cover artwork, an iconic piece of art by itself, highlights only a small part of the complete graphic which will be revealed with the album. It was again created by Aidan Hughes aka BRUTE! and its style is reminiscent of early Soviet Constructivism propaganda.

KMFDM will release a new full length album in August 2017 followed by tour dates in Europe and the US.